J. Patrick Raftery’s debut was sharing the stage with Luciano Pavarotti for The San Diego Opera’s 1980 production of La Bohème. Shortly thereafter Mr. Raftery was chosen as the recipient of the 1981 Richard Tucker Prize and their subsequent winners’ concert at Carnegie Hall. This catapulted Mr. Raftery to most of the major opera houses and orchestras of the world and until his debut at the Metropolitan Opera in 1989 Mr. Raftery was one of America’s most successful baritones. In 1992 Mr. Raftery made the transition to tenor and his tenor debut was in New York’s Mostly Mozart festival in Lucio Silla and this led to a debut at La Scala in Milan in 1993.  Mr. Raftery was re-invited to debut as a tenor at Covent Garden, The Paris Opera and The Hamburg State Opera to name but a few. In 2014 J. Patrick Raftery accepted an appointment with the University of British Columbia in Vancouver as an Assistant Professor of Voice and Opera. A dual citizen of the United States and Canada Professor Raftery was born in Washington, D.C and now makes his home in Vancouver, British Columbia.


Notable debuts:

Théâtre du Châtelet-Paris- (Les pêcheurs de perles-Zurga), The Canadian Opera Company(Marcello),The Royal Opera House, Covent Garden (Le Nozze di Figaro-Count), Das Deutsche Oper Berlin (Marcello), The Glyndebourne Festival (Guglielmo),The Metropolitan Opera of New York (Manon Lescaut-Lescaut), Opéra de Paris (Il Barbiere di Siviglia-Figaro), Bayerische Staatsoper (Sharpless), Rossini Opera Festival in Pesaro (Il Turco in Italia-Poeta),The San Fransisco Opera (Marcello), The Washington Opera (Il Barbiere di Siviglia-Figaro), Teatro alla Scala (La Vestale-Cinna)


Distinguished collaborators:

Roberto Alagna, Cecilia Bartoli, Victor Braun,Régine Crespin, Victoria De Los Angeles, Nathalie Dessay, Placido Domingo, Mirella Freni, Nicolai Ghiaurov, Edita Gruberova, Marilyn Horne, Alfredo Kraus, Pilar Lorengar, James Morris, Luciano Pavarotti, Louis Quillico, Cesare Siepi, Giuseppe Taddei, Anna Tomowa-Sintow, Jon Vickers


Preeminent conductors:

Bruno Bartoletti, Mario Bernardi,Gary Bertini, Sir Colin Davis, Bernard Haitink, Armin Jordan, Philip Jordan,Kurt Mazur, Riccardo Muti, Daniel Oren, Seiji Ozawa, Giuseppe Patanè, Sir John Pritchard, Helmuth Rilling, Mstislav Rostropovich,Timothy Vernon, Alberto Zedda


Various orchestral concerts:

The Boston Philharmonic Orchestra, The Boston Symphony Orchestra, The Cleveland Orchestra, Das Gewandhausorchester (Leipzig), The Philadelphia Orchestra, L’Orchestre de la Suisse Romande, “SWR” Symphony Orchestra Baden-Baden, Washington D.C.’s National Symphony Orchestra


Stage Directors:

Dario Fo, Sir Peter Hall, Lotfi Mansouri, Christoph Marthaler, Gian Carlo Menotti, Peter Mussbach, Christopher Newton, Sir Trevor Nunn,Pier Luigi Pizzi, Jean-Pierre Ponnelle, Jerôme Savary, Istvan Szabó, Francesca Zambello


Teachers and Coaches:

Armen Boyajian, Bruno Cagli, Todd Duncan, Philip Gosett, Stuart Hamilton, Erica De Haar, Robert Kettleson, George London, John Moriarty, Janine Reiss, Richard Trimborn, Alberto Zedda

Special Thanks to Karolina Turek!